Chelsea duo, N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard have been nominated for the men's Professional Footballers' Association player of the Year Award. Both players have put lots of efforts in this season's Premier League title race and have been recognised for it .

Kante was shortlisted for this same award last year for the part he played in Leicesters City's striking season but couldn't make it to the top three, he is the bookmakers' favorite for the 2016/17  award, with the winners to be announced at Grosvenor House in London on the 23rd of April.

While Hazard bagged the award two years ago, when the blues won the league under Jose Mourinho's reign.

Alexis Sanchez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Romelu Lukaku and Harry Kane was also feature on the six-man list, the PFA has announced.

Everton star, Romelu Lukaku who is the top flight’s leading scorer this term with 23 goals, will be battling it out with a number of his fellow nominees for the Golden Boot.

And Manchester United striker, Zlatan Ibrahimovic who has scored 17 goals in his first season in English football his also on the list, while Sanchez has hit the net 18 times to lighten up his gloomy campaign for Arsenal.

Kane who happens to be the only English nominee in this category has netted 19 goals despite two spells out with ankle injury. He was third in the voting last year and has also been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year Award alongside Spurs team-mate Dele Alli.

Alli, who turned 21 on Tuesday, won this award last year and has enjoyed another surpassing excellenc this season has 16 goals record and has helped Mauricio Pochettino’s side come out as Chelsea’s nearest challengers.

The Tottenham pair are joined by Lukaku, Burnley defender - Michael Keane, Sunderland goalkeeper - Jordan Pickford and Manchester City winger - Leroy Sane.

Keane’s startling form for the Clarets this season gained him his first England senior call-up late last year, and he now has two caps to his name. Pickford has also done well between the posts in a struggling Black Cats side, while Germany international, Sane has won rave reviews of late following his big-money summer arrival from Schalke.

Having won last season’s Women’s Super League crown without losing a game, Manchester City are understandably well represented for the women’s Player of the Year prize.

England right-back Lucy Bronze, who won the award in 2014, is joined by the club’s top scorer Jane Ross and midfielder Jill Scott. Alongside the City trio on the six-woman shortlist are Ellen White, Karen Carney and Caroline Weir.

Ross and Liverpool midfielder Weir both look set to feature in the Scotland team that face England at Euro 2017 this summer.

Bronze and Scott will represent England at the showpiece tournament in Holland, along with attacking midfielder Carney – a consistently strong performer for Chelsea last term – and Birmingham forward White, who scored the winner against the United States at the SheBelieves Cup last month.

Chelsea’s Millie Bright and Manchester City’s Nikita Parris – both also going to the Euros with England – have been nominated for the women’s Young Player of the Year gong.

Three City players get the nod in this category too, with Parris joined by Georgia Stanway and Keira Walsh. Weir is again nominated, along with Birmingham’s Jess Carter.



Post a Comment

robop © 2013. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Blogger